What are the seven seas?

You’ve heard the expression “the seven seas”. But what are these seven seas?
In Medieval European literature, “the seven seas” referred to the following seas:
* the Persian Gulf
* the Black Sea
* the Caspian Sea
* the Red Sea, including the closed Dead Sea and the Sea of Galilee
* the Mediterranean Sea, including its marginal seas, notably the Aegean Sea.
* the Adriatic Sea
* the Arabian Sea (which is part of the Indian Ocean)
For a variety of other explanations, see here.


XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>